The Curse of Entitlement

lmecum2013eveandserpent

Genesis 3:1-6

“Now the serpent was more crafty than any of the wild animals the Lord God had made. He said to the woman, ‘Did God really say, You must not eat from any tree in the garden?’ The woman said to the serpent, ‘We may eat fruit from the trees in the garden, but God did say, You must not eat fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden, and you must not touch it, or you will die. You will not certainly die,’ the serpent said to the woman. ‘For God knows that when you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.’ When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it.”

Philippians 4:10-14

I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles.

James 1:17

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

Isaiah 45:9-12

“Woe to those who quarrel with their Maker, those who are nothing but potsherds among the potsherds on the ground. Does the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you making?’ Does your work say, ‘The potter has no hands?’  Woe to the one who says to a father, ‘What have you begotten?’ or to a mother, ‘What have you brought to birth?’ This is what the Lord says— the Holy One of Israel, and its Maker: ‘Concerning things to come, do you question me about my children, or give me orders about the work of my hands? It is I who made the earth and created mankind on it. My own hands stretched out the heavens; I marshaled their starry hosts’.”

I was thinking about the concept of entitlement this morning. I was wondering if it is mostly a cultural thing here in North America because we have so much and so much opportunity. I began to seek God about this curse in my own life and I felt Him drawing me to the first record of sin. I came to the conclusion it’s not cultural, it’s human, and it sits in the core of our sinful nature.

Eve had everything and yet, she still felt entitled to the one thing God kept from her. Even without sin in the world she began to doubt the goodness of God and the reasons that He withheld things from her. She felt entitled to know more and be more than God had prepared for her. In doing so, she opened herself up to more pain than God had ever intended and she missed out on what God purposed in the garden for His creation: peace, contentment, safety, and perfect communion with Him. This first sin and the thought that we deserve more than He has given us speaks to the center of everything that we struggle with in our relationship with God and others.

It is hard to understand sometimes in a world now riddled with sin why so much of life can feel like we were dealt a bad hand but I think the key to changing this perspective is repenting of entitlement and seeking the attitude of Paul as written in Philippians (see above).

Paul was a man who struggled, deeply struggled. He was imprisoned for his faith and eventually martyred; going from a position of power in persecuting others to being persecuted himself.  Yet he was convinced that what he had in this life was enough and he didn’t even need constant affirmation that this was true. He says in regards to the concern of others “I am not saying this because I am in need ….. Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles.” He appreciated the support of others but his truth didn’t come from their involvement. It came from the steadfast belief that the life he was living was intentional and was worth it for the sake of the kingdom.

He most likely was not fully received on either side of Christianity but God used him to write a large portion of the New Testament and to spread the Gospel significantly in its birth. I doubt that he ever got to see the fruit of his labor while still on this earth. I doubt he had any idea what impact his decisions would make for the world and generations upon generations coming after him. I bet like most of us, he never anticipated his name being spoken for long after he was gone but he still obeyed and not only obeyed but found contentment in obedience.

I have not matured to this place yet but it is my deep desire to live life with this same knowing. How often are we unhappy because we feel we are owed more than we are given. I think in a materialistic, instant culture such as North America we fight this tendency very strongly but I think it is also part of the human condition no matter where we live. I always want more and what I have is never enough. If I have a difficult job, I want another one. If I have a great job, I want to work from home. If I am single, I want to be married. If I’m married, I want a husband who meets all of my needs exactly the way I need them to be met. If I have a great marriage, I want a baby. If I own a condo, I need a house. If I get to go camping, I have to have a trailer. If I make a good income and can pay my bills I want to make more. The list is endless and I never feel content no matter what goal I reach. The worst part is that I blame God and others for these things I feel entitled to when I don’t receive them or don’t receive them when I think I should.

According to James 1 and Isaiah 45 (see above) we are not entitled to anything. All good gifts comes from God and He has the right as the Creator and giver to decide when and how to give them. When we have bought a gift for someone we also reserve that right. The receiver doesn’t get to decide when and how we give it, or else it’s not really a gift, it’s an obligation. Jesus did not give His life for us out of obligation but as a gift. He redeemed us as a gift out of deep, deep love for us and He owns all good things (Romans 8:31-39).

It stirs my self righteousness to admit that things are not automatically mine but I have to remind myself in those moments that God isn’t punishing me or being controlling in the sinful way we think about control. When I compare my self-righteousness to the truth I realize that God’s character says He is my protector (2 Samuel 22:3-4), provider (Matthew 6:26-34), and is generous (Matthew 7:11).  He is not trying to keep things from me but He can see more clearly than I can. He knows the reason for the wait or not allowing something at all will be worth it for me in the end. My vision is too narrow to see what is good for me long term but His is not. I can rest in his goodness and trust in His timing because of who He is, not because I understand everything. The apostle Paul knew this and he endured life with contentment despite great loss and without any worldly “success.”

I believe the answer is to repent of the things we feel entitled to, the things we have coveted and blamed God for keeping from us. We may even need to tell God that we’re angry and that we blame Him, then repent for not trusting Him. We also may need to ask God where He is. Don’t be afraid to do so. Sometimes when I can’t feel Him I ask Him, or even yell at Him when I’m angry enough, and He always shows me. He is a gentle God even in our resentment. He doesn’t always give me what I want but He always shows me He is there. Then ask for a new heart, a heart that is focused on the plan that He has for your life. Ask Him for contentment in the now and for excitement for a future that is directly in the center of His will. Even if it looks different than we anticipated, we can be sure as apostle Paul was that we will find peace and joy there. Be vigilant about recognizing the enemy when he tempts you with “Did God really say…..?”. Keep your mind on all the things you are blessed with (Philippians 4:8) and refuse to engage mentally, visually, or conversationally with topics that bring discontentment. Refuse comparison and judgement of yourself or others.

All we need to do is scan a magazine rack at the grocery store to have proof that more only brings more baggage, unless it is given to us by God in His timing and we use it for His purposes. Central figures in our world who seem to have everything also seem to struggle the most with contentment. They are often left in broken marriages, with broken children, broken esteem, addictions, depression, and loneliness, among other things. This is of course not true of all but it is a truth that we need to absorb so that we can begin seeking healing for discontentment. I believe God wants to heal this in us so that He can open up the floodgates of favor and we won’t drown in it. What do you feel entitled to today and how is it impacting your level of peace or connection with God?

Picture Source: https://englishi2009-2010.wikispaces.com/Eve%27s+Labyrinth

I invite you to join the discussion. I'm so glad you're here! Please note that in order to maintain a safe community offensive, degrading, or inappropriate comments will not be approved.